RSS Feed

Last post about hair accessories

Posted on

So for those of you who are interested in making hair accessories that are one of a kind and trust me, these definitely one of kind, since in reality you can’t make two of them identical. I will be giving you a tutorial on how to make funky and crafty hair flower/pretties. They are not quite a flower but if you want to you could make them in that shape. To start your project you will need the following materials:

· Synthetic Silky Fabric (or you can even use silky ribbon) · Scissors · Lighter or Candle (like a tea light) · Needle and Thread ( or a hot glue gun · Buttons or Beads (they are used for the center, so many things can be substituted) ·Glue Dots or Glue Gun (for securing the center jewelry / button ect..)

Step 1: Start by cutting out your pattern
This can be done in many ways, if you would like a flower, see the attached link. If you are doing this like I do and just want to get creative hair
accessories with stuff you find around the house, your shapes could be all over the place. I’ve cut circles, squares, jagged edges and then even take the scraps to use for hair pretties. Once you are satisfied, see below… (Cut at least 5 or more cut outs to complete your accessory)

Step 2: Use the lighter or lit candle to melt the edges
*BE CAREFUL!! It is very easy to get burnt. Hold your cut out shapes about 1-2 inches above the flame, rotating it, so does not overheat and catch fire. Continue to gently melt the edges of each shape until you have gone all the way around. Do this with each of your cut outs

Step 3: Sew or glue your different cut outs together
Glue or sew the cut outs together. If you are running short on time, glue works just fine, just make sure to do it in the middle of your accessory. This works well because we hide the glue with a button, bead or piece of jewelry in the next step.

Step 4: Apply the bead, button or jewelry
You can use just about anything that you find appealing to adorn your accessory. I have even used fake pearls in the past and they look fantastic!

Step 5: Affix a clip
You can attach these to hair barrettes, safety pins or just about anything. I cut out a heart from of piece of fun foam that I found at a craft store and glued it to the back of my hair accessory before gluing the accessory to my clip…see pictures for an example

~Happy Crafting~

 

About Misty

I am a very caring, fun loving person, who is trying to figure out my niche in this world. I love saving (even when its not my money),working hard because I cant stand being idle, taking photos of my family (because life happens to quickly), and making the grade (because if you dont have much to think about your brain will go to mush!). All while being a fantastic and caring mother to my son Mr. Handsome who is 10 and my little girl The Little Missy who just turned 1. ~ Life is so much better through a child's eyes ~

Leave a Reply

